Brittany Visit!!- July 2012

Just one month later, I was so blessed to have Brittany come out to spend a week with my in Arica. From the very first moment it was an adventure! She also flew into Tacna, Peru, which is the world’s smallest airport, and somehow I still managed to get lost and not be able to find her (because I was not thinking at all and waiting for her to arrive in the departure side!). But when I finally found her, it was another sweet embrace! I can’t explain to you the feeling you get when someone has come halfway across the world to visit you. It is almost a weird relief mixed with a feeling of never wanting to let go of that person. And here began our adventures…

First, I kept poking her to make sure that she was really sitting next to me in the taxi. Also, we could not stop laughing that we actually were lost in the world’s smallest airport, and all the ideas that crossed Brittany’s mind in what she should do…when really she could do nothing. We went back to the hostal where I was staying with Laura and Eryn and we attempted to sleep a couple hours before going about our day in Tacna. That REALLY did not work because Brittany and I were both way to excited to be together, that we were just tossing about and not able to sleep. So, instead we all packed up our things, and headed out to the market (of course, to get juice at Mary’s). I got Palta Leche (avocado milk) and Brittany got a little sandwich. The drink was good and the sandwich was alright because it came with the saltiest cheese anyone has ever tasted before. After snacking, we made our way back to Arica.

Brittany and I stayed in a beach-side hostal called El Buey. It was perfect!! It was like our own little apartment for the whole week (because it had a full kitchen, tv, couch, dinning room table and area, etc.). No one else came to stay on our floor the whole time we were there, so we had the whole place to ourselves, and definitely took advantage of that. After getting settled in, Brittany was finally able to pass out and catch up on her much needed sleep. (the flight to Chile really does take a lot out of you!)

The next day we took a chill day and walked into town. Most everything was closed because it was some sort of holiday. We searched high and low for an internet café to connect to the outside world (the internet was down at the hostal), then bought our groceries for the week and headed back to the hostel to relax. We ate turkey and cheese sandwiches, LOTS of ice cream, and painted our nails. We talked and talked about life and what had been happening for the last 4-ish months.

The next day we adventured out to La Playa Corazones. It was a gorgeous day and we explored a couple caves before taking some time to soak up some sun on the rocky beach. Brittany went exploring out in the rocks and at one point entered the water and almost froze her legs off. We then enjoyed some cheese and seafood empanadas at one of our favorite empanada places, and after hitch-hiked a ride back to Arica. Once back in Arica, the crazy idea of chopping my hair came into consideration. It was fully supported by all friends, and so with the unanimous yes, we set out to accomplish this extreme task. (and successfully did so!)

The next day, Brittany, Carlo-Andre, and I set out to the Hummingbird Sanctuary. It is a beautiful reservation out in Azapa. A lady has preserved an area of nature out there and has created “home” to many animals: peacocks, dogs, llamas, rabbits, hummingbirds, etc. It a very peaceful area that is nice to go and just reflect. After enjoying an hour or so at the sanctuary, we made our way to a nearby Peruvian restaurant. Brittany somehow managed to order a kid’s meal (which I have NEVER seen in Arica), and enjoyed it thoroughly: chicken nuggets and fries. After lunch, we explored around the restaurant because it also was on a little reserve. We encountered a horse that liked Brittany, but just wanted to eat my clothes and the flags for the croquet game. Then, as always, Brittany and I found a pair of swings and hopped on immediately. It’s moments like these that make me smile.

During her last couple days we enjoyed eating more junk food at the hostal, getting lanyards woven into our hair, chasing a run-away suitcase, becoming CSI experts in Spanish, trying to climb through an itty-bitty window, and sharing and praying like the good lo’ days. These moments are ones I will cherish forever. Thanks Brittany for coming out to visit me!! I love you very much XD

One thought on “Brittany Visit!!- July 2012

  1. Jill Casserly says:

    aw Andra I just stumbled upon this entry of yours & your amazing adventure(s) with your friend Brittany! What fun you too had and I love her for ordering a kids meal (it looked quite tasty I might add 🙂 ). The hostel you stayed in sounds and looked beautiful! How fun. Still haven’t tried that…hostel staying that is….want to…someday. Maybe when we go back to south of Chile together and explore the great Patagonia area?!?!? Ps It sounds like Arica has so much to offer and I feel like I’m constantly learning all these new fun things about it like there are caves you can explore near there? Cool! Anyways, I want you to know you are awesome and I’m so excited to be friends with you and to share our love for South America and talk about how much we love it (thanks again to you and your beautiful sis Jana (sp?) for making New Years 2012-13 so memorable and fun). O and I totally have started eating up that manejar you gave me. Yum! Ok that’s all for now. Bit much for comment on something you wrote 6 months ago but I thought might as well just keep expressing how I feel all in one place.

    Blessings to you as you adventure here in US this month and then back to Peru to teach in Arequipa (maybe I’ll have to visit there too! haha. I’m planning to check out your school’s website today!)

    Sooo excited for what God has in store for you!
    Que estes bien
    Jill

Leave a comment